Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Saturday, August 27, 2011

General Patton's Prayer at Bastogne

"Almighty and most merciful Father, we humbly beseech Thee, of Thy great goodness, to restrain these immoderate rains with which we have had to contend. Grant us fair weather for Battle. Graciously hearken to us as soldiers who call upon Thee that, armed with Thy power, we may advance from victory to victory, and crush the oppression and wickedness of our enemies and establish Thy justice among men and nations."

by Catholic Chaplain O'Neill

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

curioisty


What happened to good horse sense?

Monday, August 22, 2011

Saturday, August 20, 2011

The Pipes At Lucknow by John Greenleaf Whittier

Pipes of the misty moorlands,
Voice of the glens and hills;
The droning of the torrents,
The treble of the rills!
Not the braes of bloom and heather,
Nor the mountains dark with rain,
Nor maiden bower, nor border tower,
Have heard your sweetest strain!

....

Louder, nearer, fierce as vengeance,
Sharp and shrill as swords at strife,
Came the wild MacGregor's clan-call,
Stinging all the air to life.
But when the far-off dust-cloud
To plaided legions grew,
Full tenderly and blithesomely
The pipes of rescue blew!

.....

Dear to the corn-land reaper
And plaided mountaineer, -
To the cottage and the castle
The piper's song is dear.
Sweet sounds the Gaelic pibroch
O'er mountain, glen, and glade;
But the sweetest of all music
The pipes at Lucknow played!

Friday, August 19, 2011

Appalachian eagle


They be making a come back big time!

Monday, August 15, 2011

quote

"Only the shallow know themselves."
~Oscar Wilde

Appalachian mule


My grand dady had him one of these.

Saturday, August 13, 2011

A Word to Husbands


To keep your marriage brimming
With love in the loving cup,
Whenever you’re wrong, admit it;
Whenever you’re right, shut up.
by Ogden Nash

Friday, August 12, 2011

almost done


Reading was never his best skill!

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

quote

“We were all so trained to obey orders without even thinking that the thought of disobeying an order would never have occurred to anybody.”
Rudolf Hess


quote

"Twenty years of romance makes a woman look like a ruin; but twenty years of marriage make her something like a public building."

~Oscar Wilde

Monday, August 8, 2011

Appalachian out house


There is one last option but you'll not stay dry in a rain.

quote

"In the absence of orders, go find something and kill it."
Gen Erwin Rommel

Sunday, August 7, 2011

quote

Men marry the wife they deserve!
Oscar Wilde

Saturday, August 6, 2011

QUOTE

A good plan violently executed now is better than a perfect plan executed next week.
George S. Patton

Friday, August 5, 2011

quote

There are not enough Indians in the world to defeat the Seventh Cavalry.
George Armstrong Custer

appalachia


Still a wilderness!

Monday, August 1, 2011

are pigs related to ?


COI authorities are calling for Congressional hearings on the Bad_pig Bad_bird theory.